Schedule of Indian Constitution

Schedule of Indian Constitution

List of 12 Schedule of Indian Constitution

First Schedule

The 1st schedule of Indian Constitution is related to the federal structure of India that India is a group of states, in which the newest state is Telangana which was carved out of Andhra Pradesh in 2014. there are some states in India which are not full states, they are union territories. That too comes under this schedule.

==>The government had abolished Article 370 within the first schedule itself.

Second Schedule

The second schedule deals with the provisions of government jobs in India. And the emoluments, allowances that the Parliament of India decides, who will receive what level of salary for their work.

Third Schedule

The 3rd schedule is related to the oath, as if a party forms the government. Then at that place the Chief Minister, the Minister, the MLA and the government servants are administered the oath of God. That they will do their work by staying within the Constitution of India.

Fourth Schedule

The fourth schedule is related to the seats of Rajya Sabha, from which state there will be how many seats of Rajya Sabha. So, this schedule has rules for the seats of Rajya Sabha on the basis of population. Today Uttar Pradesh has the highest number of seats. Number of 31 Rajya Sabha seats in India. 

Fifth Schedule

The Fifth Schedule contains provisions for the administration and control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes.

Sixth Schedule

The Sixth Schedule deals with the North Eastern states of India which includes (Assam Tripura Mizoram Meghalaya) it lays out how development works.

Compared to other parts of India, these states have considerable relaxation which is given by the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution.

The Sixth Schedule contains provisions for the administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.

Seventh Schedule

The 7th schedule was divided into three levels of power:

1.Central government

             2.State government level

             3.Concurrent administration level. 

Eight Schedule

Eighth Schedule deals with languages. Today there are 22 languages in this schedule, but in the beginning it was only 14 languages.

  • Assamese
  • Bengali
  • Bodo
  • Dogri (Dongri)
  • Gujarati
  • Hindi
  • Kannada
  • Kashmiri
  • Konkani
  • Mathili (Maithili)
  • Malayalam
  • Manipuri
  • Marathi
  • Nepali
  • Oriya
  • Punjabi
  • Sanskrit
  • Santhali
  • Sindhi
  • Tamil
  • Telugu
  • Urdu

Nine Schedule

The 9th Schedule evolved out of India’s first amendment …. which were reforms relating to land reforms in 1950.

It deals with the state acts and regulations of that deal with land reforms and

abolition of the zamindari system. It also deals with the acts and regulations of the Parliament dealing with other matters.


1st Amendment Act 1951 added the Ninth Schedule to protect the laws included in it from judicial scrutiny on the ground of violation of fundamental rights.

However, in 2007 the Supreme Court ruled that the laws included in this schedule.

After, April 24, 1973, are now open to judicial review

Tenth Schedule

The 10th Schedule came from the 52 amendment of India, which was a constitutional amendment related to political defection in 1985.


This schedule was added by the 52nd Amendment Act of 1985, also known as the Anti-Defection Act. 

Eleventh Schedule

The 11th schedule came from the amendment number 73 in 1992, which was related to the Panchayat.

It contains the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats. It has 29 matters.


This schedule was added by the 73rd Amendment Act of 1992.

Twelfth Schedule

The 12th Schedule also came in 1992 itself through amendment number 74, which was related to the municipality.

It deals with the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of the municipalities. It has 18 cases.


By the 74th Amendment Act of 1992

Be the first to reply

Leave a Reply